Marcus Rashford posts on social media after missing out on England squad for UEFA Euro 2024

Marcus Rashford took to social media after not being considered for the preliminary England squad of 33 players for UEFA Euro 2024 selected by Gareth Southgate.

Saatvik Oberoi
New Update
Marcus Rashford and Gareth Southgate
Listen to this article
0.75x 1x 1.5x
00:00 / 00:00

Marcus Rashford, a Manchester United forward, has broken his silence after being left out of England's preliminary European Championship roster.

The 26-year-old has had a rough season with United and is currently out of confidence with Three Lions manager Gareth Southgate. Rashford's difficult season saw him score just seven goals and provide two assists in 33 English Premier League matches as they were knocked out of the UEFA Champions League and ended outside of the European positions. Southgate chose to call up Jarrod Bowen, Eberechi Eze, and Bukayo Saka to his offensive ranks after unveiling a 33-man team, which will be reduced to 26 before the tournament in Germany in June.

Marcus Rashford posted on social media as he used the England squad picture as well. He wrote, "Wishing Gareth (Southgate) and the boys all the best for the up and coming tournament."

The England manager chose Anthony Gordon, Eberechi Eze, and Jarrod Bowen over Rashford, and when questioned why Rashford was not chosen, he gave a simple explanation. He said, "I just feel other players in that area of the pitch have had better seasons. That’s it".

Despite collecting 60 caps and representing the Three Lions in four international championships, he has had a very dismal season with United. Rashford scored only eight goals across all competitions, and the club finished eighth in the English Premier League, their lowest result since 1990. 

Taking look at the preliminary England squad for UEFA Euro 2024: -

Goalkeepers: Jordan Pickford (Everton), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal), James Trafford (Burnley), Dean Henderson (Crystal Palace)

Defenders: Lewis Dunk (Brighton & Hove Albion), Ezri Konsa (Aston Villa), Joe Gomez (Liverpool), Keiran Trippier (Ben White (Arsenal), Jarrard Branthwaite (Everton), Kyle Walker (Manchester City), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Jarell Quansah (Liverpool), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), Marc Guehi (Crystal Palace)

Midfielders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Curtis Jones (Liverpool), Adam Wharton (Crystal Palace), Kobbie Mainoo (Man Utd), Declan Rice (Arsenal), Connor Gallaghar (Chelsea), Cole Palmer (Chelsea), James Maddison (Tottenham Hotspur)

Attackers: Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Jude Bellingham (Real Madrid), Harry Kane (Bayern Munich), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Ollie Watkins (Aston Villa), Jack Grealish (Manchester City), Anthony Gordon (Newcastle United), Ivan Toney (Brentford), Jack Grealish (Manchester City), Eberechi Eze (Crystal Palace), Jarrad Bowen (West Ham United)

Gareth Southgate England Marcus Rashford