FC Barcelona star boy misses out as Spain announces final 26-man squad for UEFA Euro 2024

Spain head coach Luis De la Fuente has made a surprise call of not taking FC Barcelona wonderkid to the mega tournament in Germany starting later this month.

Saatvik Oberoi
Updated On
New Update
Lamine Yamal and Pau Cubarsi
Listen to this article
0.75x 1x 1.5x
00:00 / 00:00

Spain's 26-man roster for UEFA Euro 2024 has been disclosed, with three players removed from the provisional selection. On Friday, Pau Cubarsi, Aleix García, and Marcos Llorente were dropped from Spain's Euro 2024 roster.

However, Manager Luis de la Fuente's 26-man team features Manchester City midfielder Rodri, Chelsea's Marc Cucurella, and on-loan Arsenal goalkeeper David Raya. Despite Cubari's absence, his 16-year-old FC Barcelona colleague Lamine Yamal has been named, whilst Fermin Lopez and former Newcastle midfielder Ayoze Perez will play in their first big event with La Roja. De la Fuente replaced Luis Enrique in December 2022, after Spain was eliminated from the FIFA World Cup by Morocco in the round of 16. 

Cubarsi earned his debut for the senior team in March, stepping on as an injury-time substitution in a 1-0 defeat to Colombia at the prestigious London Stadium. Since then, he has won two more caps. Cubarsi's absence is possibly surprising given his outstanding debut season for Barcelona. During the 2023-24 season, he appeared in 35 games across all competitions, three of them were Champions League matches. 

Spain's penultimate friendly before the commencement of UEFA Euro 2024 will be against Northern Ireland on Saturday at Estadi Mallorca Son Moix. They begin their tournament on June 15 against Croatia, before facing Italy in a rematch from the Euro 2021 semi-final on June 20. On June 24, they will face Albania in Dusseldorf to conclude the group round.

Taking look at Spain squad for UEFA Euro 2024

Goalkeepers: Alex Remiro (Real Sociedad), David Raya (Arsenal on loan from Brentford), Unai Simon (Athletic Bilbao)

Defenders: Dani Vivian (Athletic Bilbao), Jesus Navas (Sevilla), Nacho (Real Madrid), Cucarella (Chelsea), Aymeric Laporte (Al Nassr), Robin Le Normand (Real Sociedad), Alex Grimaldo (Bayer Leverkusen), Dani Carvajal (Real Madrid)

Midfielders: Alex Baena (Villarreal), Martin Zubimendi (Real Sociedad), Rodrigo (Manchester City), Pedri (Barcelona), Fermin (Barcelona), Mikel Merino (Real Sociedad), Fabian Ruiz (PSG)

Forwards: Mikel Oyarzabal (Real Sociedad), Ayoze Perez (Real Betis), Ferran Torres (Barcelona), Williams Jr (Athletic Bilbao), Alvaro Morata (Atletico Madrid), Dani Olmo (RB Leipzig), Joselu (Real Madrid on loan from Espanyol), Lamine Yamal (Barcelona)

FC Barcelona Spain Lamine Yamal Pau Cubarsi UEFA Euro 2024