UEFA Euro: Top 5 football legends who never won the tournament

The marquee European Competition has seen some of the greatest football teams competing against each other and the footballers also giving their best to be crowned the champions of Europe.

Anirban Bose
New Update
Top 5 Football Legends Who Never Won the UEFA Euro

Football legends who never won UEFA Euro (Source- Twitter)

Listen to this article
0.75x 1x 1.5x
00:00 / 00:00

The UEFA Euro 2024 is just a few days away, as the tournament is scheduled to take place in Germany. The marquee European Competition has seen some of the greatest football teams competing against each other and the footballers also giving their best to be crowned the champions of Europe. The footballers have already joined their respective camps for the upcoming mega event and started playing the international friendlies as well. 

England failed to win the silverware at their home after the three lions lost against Italy in penalties. Over the years the tournament has seen some of the best underdogs teams performing in the tournament with Greece and Portugal winning it back in 2004 and 2016 respectively being the underdogs of the tournament.  The top twenty-four nations from all across Europe have been divided into six groups. 

Spain and Germany have the joint-most titles winning the tournament thrice. There are footballers who have never even touched the silverware for even once some of them have their last chance of winning and some of them have failed to win in their playing career. In the article, we will be looking at the footballers who failed to win UEFA Euro.

Here are the top 5 footballers who never won UEFA Euro

5. Kylian Mbappe 

Kylian Mbappe will be leading France in his first tournament as a captain. He will be under pressure wearing the captain's armband for the first time, as the 25-year-old footballer has been arguably the best footballer of this generation. Mbappe in his debut season with the Les Blues won the FIFA World Cup 2018 and then also qualified for the final of the 2022 edition as well. However, one trophy that is missing from his cabinet is the UEFA Euro as the winger failed to win back in 2020. 

4. Toni Kroos 

Toni Kroos is one of the greatest midfielders of this generation. The 'German Sniper' as called by the fans is known for his amazing vision of passing and workload during the game. Kroos has been a legend for Germany as he won several trophies with the national side in the 2014 FIFA World Cup as well. After a stellar career at Real Madrid, he has retired from club football and will also be hanging up his boots after the UEFA Euro 2024 and this is the final last chance for him to win the trophy. 

3. Eden Hazard 

Eden Hazard was one of the finest footballers of this era. The former Chelsea footballer was known for his immense speed and smooth dribbling ability. Being with Belgium's golden generation he failed to win any major trophy for the side. He was in prime form till 2018 and till then his side could not qualify for even one final of any tournament. He is one of the listed footballers who have failed to win the Euro even once. 

2. David Beckham 

David Beckham is one of the most handsome footballers of all time. The Manchester United legend has been known for his ravishing lifestyle and footballing brilliance. Beckham was part of the golden generation of England, but he never won any trophy with the Three Lions. The former Real Madrid footballer has retired long back and he has also one big name that has failed to win the Euro. 

1. Paolo Maldini 

Paolo Maldini is the greatest defender of all time. The Italian took part in four FIFA World Cups and three UEFA European Championships. Although he did not win a tournament with Italy, he reached the final of the 1994 World Cup and Euro 2000 failing on both occasions to win the silverware. The most decorated defender of all time's trophy cabinet for the national team has been vacant. 

Also Read: Here are top 10 midfielders to watch out for in UEFA Euro 2024

Paolo Maldini Toni Kroos UEFA Euro 2024 David Beckham Eden Hazard Kylian Mbappe