'He can play till he is 50...' - Yograj Singh insists BCCI to break free of the 'age-factor' mindset for star India batter to play for long time

Yograj Singh has urged the BCCI to reject the idea that age is a determining factor for some players to play for a longer time. To know more about the player, read the article.

Arunima Purohit
New Update
Yograj Singh

Yograj Singh (Source: X)

Listen to this article
0.75x 1x 1.5x
00:00 / 00:00

Yuvraj Singh's father, Yograj Singh, has urged the BCCI to reconsider Rohit Sharma's eligibility for as long as his form and fitness remain intact, rejecting the idea that age is a determining factor. Yograj, who represented India in one Test and six ODIs between 1980 and 1981, thinks that Rohit is one of the few players for whom fitness has never been a deciding factor and that the team captain can play for India until he is 50.

"I feel that in Indian cricket, the age factor should be scrapped once and for all. Rohit Sharma and Viru [Virender Sehwag] are two such great players who have never thought about fitness and training. If he does, he can play till he is 50," said Yograj Singh as quoted by Sports18. 

In this IPL 2024 season, Rohit's form has been a great concern since he has scored 349 runs from 13 matches. As captain and a player, he has a lot riding on the next eighteen months. India's next major task after the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 is the Border-Gavaskar Trophy, for which they will travel to Australia at the end of this year. Moreover, if India makes it through qualifying, the Champions Trophy and the World Test Championship final are scheduled for the following year. 

India's squad for T20 World Cup 2024 released

The much-awaited T20 World Cup 2024 squad has been released by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). While some new faces have been added to the team in the likes of Shivam Dube, Yuzvendra Chahal, and Mohammed Siraj, the hopes of winning the tournament rise. 

India's squad for T20 World Cup 2024: Rohit Sharma (C), Hardik Pandya (VC), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Sanju Samson, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammed Siraj, Jasprit Bumrah.

Reserves: Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed, Avesh Khan

BCCI ICC T20 World CUP 2024