'Playing like the Champions' - Fans react as KKR beat Delhi by 106 runs to register third successive win in IPL 2024

Sunil Narine smashed a firey knock of 85 runs off just 39 m balls, with 7 fours and 7 sixes having an amazing strike rate of 217.94. He also claimed 1 wicket for KKR in the second innings.

Umesh Sharma
New Update
KKR beat DC by runs (File Photo: IPL Official)

KKR beat DC by runs (File Photo: IPL Official)

Listen to this article
0.75x 1x 1.5x
00:00 / 00:00

Delhi Capitals hosted KKR at the ACA-VDCA Stadium in Vishakhapatnam in the 16th match of the ongoing Indian Premier League. The visiting skipper Shreyas Iyer won the toss and decided to bat first. Batting, KKR completely outmuscled the bowling attack of DC and smashed a massive total of 272 runs for the loss of 7 wickets in the allotted 20 overs.

Star opener Sunil Narine played a swashbuckling knock of 85 runs off just 39 balls, with an unbelievable strike rate of 217.94, hitting 7 fours and 7 sixes. Following him, the very young number three batter Angkrish Raghuvanshi smashed 54 runs off just 27 balls, with a strike rate of 200.00 hitting 5 fours and 3 sixes.

Apart from these two, the veteran all-rounder Andre Russell also did his job as he played a fiery knock of 41 runs off just 19 balls, with 4 fours and 3 sixes having a strike of 215.78. On the back of these knocks and the extras delivered from DC’s bowlers, KKR managed to post the second-highest total in the history of the Indian Premier League, scoring 272 runs for the loss of 7 wickets in 20 overs, just behind SRH’s 277/3 in the current season only.

Anrich Nortje and Ishant Sharma scalped 3 and 2 wickets, respectively for Delhi Capitals, alongside one wicket each picked by Khaleel Ahmed and Mitchell Marsh.

Delhi Capitals failed to get better of KKR bowling attack

While chasing the target, Delhi had a very miserable start as they lost their first four wickets just at the score of 33 runs in 4.3 overs. Skipper Rishabh Pant and middle-order batter Tristan Stubbs tried quite hard with the well-fought knocks of 55 and 54 runs, respectively. 

But their knocks couldn't save Delhi Capitals as they were restricted to the score of only 166 runs for the loss of all their wickets in 17.2 overs. Eventually, KKR won this match by a heavy margin of 106 runs and registered their third consecutive win in the third match of the ongoing Indian Premier League 2024. 

Vaibhav Arora and Varun Chakravarthy scalped 3 wickets each, alongside 2 wickets picked by Mitchell Starc. Besides these three, Andre Russell and Sunil Narine also claimed one wicket each. 

Here's how fans reacted to KKR's third successive win in IPL 2024: