Pakistan set to host ODI tri series in home ground against NZ and SA ahead of CT 2025; will host an ODI game after 6 years

After 21 years, Pakistan will participate in an ODI tri-series, which will be a massive achievement for them. 

Arunima Purohit
New Update
Pakistan Cricket Team

Pakistan Cricket Team (Source: X)

Listen to this article
0.75x 1x 1.5x
00:00 / 00:00

Pakistan is set to host an ODI tri-series involving South Africa and New Zealand ahead of the Champions Trophy 2025. The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced the schedule for the upcoming 2024-25 season. After 21 years, Pakistan will participate in an ODI tri-series, which will be a massive achievement for them. 

"The visits by five top cricket-playing nations in the lead-up to the ICC Champions Trophy 2025, followed by seven countries participating in the event proper over the next eight months, also highlight Pakistan’s standing and stature in international cricket. We deeply value the participation of these teams and players, who will bring immense talent and competitive spirit to our fields," said PCB Chair Mohsin Naqvi. 

Moreover, after six long years, an ODI series will be held in Pakistan. Since the Champions Trophy is scheduled to happen in Pakistan, this is a good opportunity for South Africa and New Zealand to get the hang of the stadiums and the pitches. The scheduled matches will be held in Multan from February 8 to 14.

Also Read: PCB announces busy home and away schedule for 2024-25 international cricket season 

Pakistan's schedule for the 2024-25 season


Bangladesh in Pakistan (Two Tests)

21-25 Aug – First Test, Rawalpindi

30 Aug-3 Sep – Second Test, Karachi

England in Pakistan (Three Tests)

7-11 Oct – First Test, Multan

15-19 Oct – Second Test, Karachi

24-28 Oct – Third Test, Rawalpindi

West Indies in Pakistan (Two Tests)

16-20 Jan – First Test, Karachi

24-28 Jan – Second Test, Multan

New Zealand and South Africa in Pakistan (ODI tri-series)

8 Feb – Pakistan v New Zealand, Multan

10 Feb – New Zealand v South Africa, Multan

12 Feb – Pakistan v South Africa, Multan

14 Feb – Final, Multan


Pakistan to Australia (three ODIs, three T20Is)

4 Nov – First ODI, Melbourne

8 Nov – Second ODI, Adelaide

10 Nov – Third ODI, Perth

14 Nov – First T20I, Brisbane

16 Nov – Second T20I, Sydney

18 Nov – Third T20I, Hobart

Pakistan to Zimbabwe (three ODIs, three T20Is)

24 Nov – First ODI, Bulawayo

26 Nov – Second ODI, Bulawayo

28 Nov – Third ODI, Bulawayo

1 Dec – First T20I, Bulawayo

3 Dec – Second T20I, Bulawayo

5 Dec – Third T20I, Bulawayo

Pakistan to South Africa (Three T20Is, three ODIs and two Tests)

10 Dec – First T20I, Durban

13 Dec – Second T20I, Centurion

14 Dec – Third T20I, Johannesburg

17 Dec – First ODI, Paarl

19 Dec – Second ODI, Cape Town

22 Dec – Third ODI, Johannesburg

26-30 Dec – First Test, Centurion

3-7 Jan – Second Test, Cape Town