OTD| 13 years to 'Dhoni finishes off in style, India lifts the World Cup after 28 years'

On this day, India won the ODI World Cup Finals in 2011 after 28 years under the captaincy of MS Dhoni. Read the entire article to take a trip down memory lane.

Arunima Purohit
New Update
India's 2011 World Cup victory

Indian cricketers elated after winning the World Cup (Source: X)

Listen to this article
0.75x 1x 1.5x
00:00 / 00:00

On the night of April 2, 2011, the streets of India were crowded as the elated Indians celebrated the victory of the cricket team in the ODI World Cup. The celebration mattered much more as the World Cup returned to India after 28 years of wait. India's performance throughout the tournament was quite impressive and undoubtedly they were the favourites even before they entered the finals. 

Playing against Sri Lanka, MS Dhoni lost the toss, which kind of backfired for them. Mahela Jayawardhane's unbeaten century of 103 runs off 88 balls in the first innings demotivated the entire country. After having a successful quarter-final and semi-final match, Sri Lanka's performance surprised the crowd. The drama increased even more when the men-in-blue lost Virender Sehwag (0) in the first over of the match and then Sachin Tendulkar (18) a few minutes later. 

However, young Virat Kohli (35) and Gautam Gambhir managed the middle overs which brought India closer to the target. Gambhir's 97 runs and MS Dhoni's 91 runs will always stay rent-free in the minds of the cricket fans. Due to these batting legends, the men-in-blue lifted the World Cup after a long wait. Wankhade Stadium will never forget Dhoni's winning six which led to Ravi Shastri's commentary, "Dhoni finishes off in style. India lifts the World Cup after 28 years. The party starts in the dressing room."

India to play T20 World Cup 2024 in West Indies and USA

Yet another opportunity is coming India's way as they will be travelling to the West Indies and the US to play the T20 World Cup 2024. BCCI hasn't released the squad for the tournament yet and as per reports, they are waiting for the first half of the IPL to get over. However, Jay Shah confirmed Rohit Sharma to represent India as the captain in the ICC tournament. 

It was in 2013 when the men-in-blue won their last ICC trophy, the 'Champions Trophy'. Since then, under various captains, India has lost several trophies. As the World Cup year has come again, all the fans will be hoping to see some great performances by the team and lift the trophy as the wait is 13 years long.

ODI World Cup