'RCB are back to their original form' - Fans react as RCB lose to KKR by 7 wickets at their home ground in IPL 2024

Venkatesh Iyer scored a half-century for KKR, there were also some crucial knocks from openers Phil Salt, Sunil Narine and skipper Shreyas Iyer.

Umesh Sharma
New Update
RCB vs KKR (Source: IPL).png

RCB lose to KKR by 7 wickets (File Photo: IPL)

Listen to this article
0.75x 1x 1.5x
00:00 / 00:00

RCB and KKR took on each other in a ‘high-octane’ 10th match of the ongoing Indian Premier League 2024. Both teams played this match at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru on Friday, March 29. It was also a ‘clash of giants’ for both teams as it is considered to be one of the iconic rivalries in the history of the Indian Premier League so far.

The visiting skipper Shreyas Iyer won the toss and asked RCB to bat first; it was quite surprising for the fans and experts that KKR opted to bowl first at a considered ‘batting-friendly’ track of the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.

Batting first, RCB’s former skipper and the modern-day batting great, Virat Kohli shone with the bat once again and scored his second consecutive half-century in the ongoing edition of the tournament. He scored 83 runs off 59 balls, with 4 fours and 4 sixes. Besides him, Cameron Green and Glenn Maxwell also played the knocks of 33 and 28 runs, respectively.

At the end of the RCB innings, the veteran batter and an ‘amazing finisher’ Dinesh Karthik once again lived up to the expectations after two unbeaten knocks; he scored 20 runs off just 8 balls, with 3 sixes before getting dismissed in ‘run-out’ on the last ball of the 20th over.

On the back of these knocks, RCB posted a total of 182 runs for the loss of 6 wickets in the allotted 20 overs. Harshit Rana and Andre Russell scalped two wickets each for KKR, alongside one wicket claimed by Sunil Narine at the cost of just 6 runs in his 2 overs.

KKR batters outmuscle RCB's bowling attack

While chasing the target, KKR’s opening pair of Phil Salt and Sunil Narine provided a swashbuckling star to the team, with a partnership of 86 runs in just 6.3 overs for the first wicket. However, the visitors lost their second opener Phil Salt in a quick succession at the score of 92 runs on the penultimate delivery of the 8th over. Sunil Narine scored 47 runs off just 22 balls, with 2 fours and 5 sixes. 

Eventually, KKR chased down the total comfortably in overs, scoring 186 runs for the loss of 3 wickets in just 16.5 overs and won the match by a margin of 7 wickets. Venkatesh Iyer scored 50 runs off 30 balls, with 3 fours and 4 sixes and skipper Shreyas Iyer also played an unbeaten knock of 39 runs off 24 balls, with 2 fours and 2 sixes. 

Here's how fans reacted to RCB's defeat against KKR:



IPL 2024 Virat Kohli RCB vs KKR