Cricketers Who Won Both IPL and T20 World Cup Trophies on Debut

Check out the cricketers who achieved the remarkable feat of winning the IPL and T20 World Cup trophies in their debut season. Explore their inspiring journeys and historic victories.

Jerin K Tomy
New Update
Sanju Samson (Source: X)

Sanju Samson (Source: X)

Listen to this article
0.75x 1x 1.5x
00:00 / 00:00

A T20 World Cup and a franchise title are completely different achievements for a cricketer. But when it comes to winning the Indian Premier League (IPL), it is no less than a milestone. While one tournament is about national pride, the other focuses on its glamorous and competitive nature.

Being a part of an IPL franchise is the dream of any budding player. Similarly, representing the country in a major international event like the T20 World Cup is a pivotal moment in a cricketer's career. While the format has witnessed many greats over the years, only a few have managed to win both the T20 World Cup and the IPL.

Moreover, many of them required multiple attempts to get their hands on the two elusive titles. For example, MS Dhoni lifted the T20 World Cup in his debut attempt, but it took him three years to win the first IPL title (2011). That being said, let's take a look at the players who won the T20 World Cup and IPL in their first attempt.

Only three players are on the list and they are:

3. Sanju Samson


Sanju Samson is one of the finest players in the IPL history. The Rajasthan Royals skipper made his IPL debut for Kolkata Knight Riders in 2012, the year they won their maiden title. Samson was part of the Indian team that won the 2024 T20 World Cup. However, it is interesting that the keeper-batter did not get a single game to play in his two debut tournaments. This highlights the immense fortune he can bring to the team.

Also Read: BCCI to conduct victory parade for Team India in Mumbai on July 5, Rohit Sharma also shares the news

2. Yusuf Pathan


Former India all-rounder Yusuf Pathan was part of the inaugural World Cup-winning team. Interestingly, his T20I debut was in the final against Pakistan. Pathan was part of Rajasthan Royals in the inaugural IPL season in 2008. Led by the legendary Shane Warne, Royals lifted the title and Pathan played a crucial role, scoring 435 runs in 16 games at an excellent strike rate of 179.01.

1. Sunil Narine


West Indies spin wizard Sunil Narine is another player in this unique achievement list. The southpaw was part of the team that won the World Cup in 2012. The same year, he debuted for Kolkata Knight Riders and helped to win the coveted title. Narine was impressive with his off-spin deliveries, picking up 24 wickets.

Also Read: Everything You Need to Know About the Upcoming Match of Team India

Sanju Samson IPL Sunil Narine Yusuf Pathan T20 World Cup