Venue for India vs Pakistan Champions Trophy 2025 revealed, approval from Indian government awaited

Champions Trophy 2025 tournament match between India and Pakistan set to be played in historic venue after the tentative draft was released recently.

Updated On
New Update

India vs Pakistan (source-ICC)

Listen to this article
0.75x 1x 1.5x
00:00 / 00:00

Pakistan is set to host the 2025 Champions Trophy, and as per reports, the tournament is set to start early next year. According to the tentative schedule, the tournament is likely to begin on 19th February with the final to be played on 9th March. 

8 sides are set to take part in the tournament and the marquee clash will be between defending champions Pakistan and India. According to a report carried by Cricbuzz, the match is set to be hosted in Lahore at the Gaddafi Stadium. This encounter will be the final match of the group phases before the semi-finals. 

The Indian government hasn’t yet commented or given its consent to India travelling across the border. It has been nearly 16 years since India toured Pakistan due to political differences. The last time India went to Pakistan was in 2008 when the MS Dhoni-led side played in the Asia Cup tournament. 

Champions Trophy set for Hybrid Model?

International Cricket Council is still waiting for the Indian government to make their decision. Indian Cricket Team had decided not to tour Pakistan in 2023 during the Asia Cup tournament. In the end, a few games were played in Pakistan, while most of the tournament was played in Sri Lanka, including the finals. 

In case the BCCI isn’t permitted by the Indian government there is a chance that ICC may have to go for the Hybrid Model. This will be a huge blow to the Pakistan Cricket Board as they will be hosting a huge ICC event after a long time. 

In the current batch, only Rohit Sharma has played in Pakistan during the 2008 Asia Cup. The 37-year-old recently led the Indian team to a close win over Pakistan in the T20 World Cup on Sunday. 

The ICC Champions Trophy began as the knockout trophy with South Africa and New Zealand winning the titles. The re-christened Champions Trophy in 2002 saw India and Sri Lanka share the title before West Indies won it in 2004. India’s last ICC title was the Champions Trophy in 2013 before losing it to Pakistan in 2017. 

Pakistan Cricket Board Indian Cricket Team Pakistan