'They should first qualify before playing in IPL' - Fans react RCB lose to LSG by 28 runs, face third defeat in IPL 2024

RCB batters failed to crack the 'LSG bowling' code and lost their third match in the ongoing edition of the Indian Premier League, with a defeat of runs against LSG.

Umesh Sharma
New Update
LSG beat RCB by runs (File Photo: IPL Official)

LSG beat RCB by runs (File Photo: IPL Official)

Listen to this article
0.75x 1x 1.5x
00:00 / 00:00

LSG outplayed RCB in the 15th match of the ongoing Indian Premier League 2024 at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru. The hosts RCB won the toss and asked the visitors LSG to bat first. Batting first, LSG posted a total of 181 runs for the loss of 5 wickets in the allotted 20 overs.

The veteran opener Quinton de Kock played an amazing knock of 81 runs off just 56 balls, with 8 fours and 5 sixes. Besides him, vice-captain Nicholas Pooran also smashed 40 runs off just 21 balls, with one four and 5 sixes, alongside 24 and 20 runs by KL Rahul and Marcus Stoinis, respectively.

Glenn Maxwell scalped 2 wickets for RCB, alongside one wicket each bagged by Reece Topley, Yash Dayal, and Mohammed Siraj.

Mayank Yadav dismantles RCB batting attack

While chasing the target, the hosts couldn’t get the momentum as they were restricted to only 153 runs for losing all their wickets in 19.4 overs. Former skipper and opener, Virat Kohli couldn’t get going in this match and he was dismissed at the individual score of 22 runs off 16 balls, with 2 fours and a six.

Rajat Patidar scored 29 runs off 21 balls, with 2 fours and 2 sixes, followed by Mahipal Lomror’s 33 runs off just 13 balls, with 3 fours and 3 sixes.

However, these knocks couldn’t help RCB to chase down the target of 182 runs; young pace sensation of LSG, Mayank Yadav lived up to the expectations once again and produced a masterclass bowling performance, scalping 3 wickets just at the cost of 14 runs in his quota of 4 overs.

Apart from Mayank, Naveen-ul-Haq also claimed 2 wickets in 3.4 overs. While Maniraman Siddharth, Yash Thakur, and Marcus Stoinis also claimed one wicket each.

Eventually, KL Rahul’s LSG won this match by a margin of 28 runs and registered their second win in the ongoing edition of the Indian Premier League. Young pacer Mayank Yadav won the 'Player of the Match award for his match-defining bowling performance in LSG's favour. 

Here’s how fans reacted: