T20 World Cup: List of Major Upsets in tournament history

Biggest Upsets in T20: Here is the complete list of the biggest upset matches where associate nation teams defeated test nation teams in thrilling encounters, only on sportsinfo.com

Arunima Purohit
New Update

USA team celebrating after defeating Pakistan (Source: X)

Listen to this article
0.75x 1x 1.5x
00:00 / 00:00

The ninth edition of the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 is going great, with two super-overs already. One match was between Namibia and Oman, and the other game was between the USA and Pakistan. While all other matches are doing fine, Pakistan went through the biggest upset of the season. They lost the game against the USA, newcomers who played just two matches in the tournament. 

The Netherlands is one of those teams that have defeated many major teams in the tournament and ruined their chances of qualification. Their victory against South Africa in the T20 WC 2022 was the most recent. Unexpectedly, the Proteas couldn't chase a target of 159 runs due to the failure of the batters' contribution. They went on to lose the match by 13 runs. 

Apart from the Netherlands, Ireland is also one of the teams that have defeated giants like the West Indies and England in 2022. It was an incredible year for Ireland as they performed as a team and won good games against some major teams. Hence, their name is written in the history of the tournament. 

Major upsets in T20 WC history:

This is not the first time any major team was defeated by an associate nation in the T20 World Cup history. There are a lot of teams who have been through some upsets in the last eight editions of the tournament. The list of these upsets is given below.

2007: Zimbabwe beat Australia

2007: Bangladesh beat West Indies

2009: Netherlands beat England

2014: Ireland beat Zimbabwe

2014: Hong Kong beat Bangladesh

2014: Netherlands beat England

2016: Oman beat Ireland

2016: Afghanistan beat Zimbabwe

2016: Afghanistan beat West Indies

2021: Scotland beat Bangladesh

2021: Namibia beat Netherlands

2021: Namibia beat Ireland

2022: Namibia beat Sri Lanka

2022: Scotland beat West Indies

2022: Ireland beat West Indies

2022: Ireland beat England

2022: Zimbabwe beat Pakistan

2022: Netherlands beat Zimbabwe

2022: Netherlands beat South Africa

2024: USA beat Pakistan

T20 World Cup