List of teams who won IPL titles from 2014 -2023

The IPL 2024 season has begun with a lot of pomp and excitement. Cricketing fans from across the world are eager to see who wins this year's IPL trophy. In the meantime, let us take a look at the past 10-year champions of the IPL trophy.

Pratyusha Bhawar
Updated On
New Update
IPL 2023 Winners: CSK

IPL 2023 Winners: Chennai Super Kings

Listen to this article
0.75x 1x 1.5x
00:00 / 00:00

All the cricketing fans are eager to witness the fierce competition among the IPL teams. The 2024 IPL clash has begun with a boom. All eyes are presently on the mega event to access some of the best cricketing talents and looking forward to who shall be the winner of the 2024 IPL title.

Notably, mostly all the 10 teams have set their sights on winning the title and boosted their camps with talented players in the IPL 2024 auctions. 

Let us check out the last 10 IPL winnings list:

10. IPL 2014: Kolkata Knight Riders

IPL 2014: KKR (Source: Google)

The Kolkata Knight Riders became the second-ever team in IPL history to win the trophy at least twice. Notably, star opening batter Manish Pandey's heroic play allowed KKR to chase a massive total of 199 in the final. Pandey scored a remarkable 94 out of 50. KKR's Robin Uthappa earned the orange cap after amassing 660 runs in 16 innings.

9. IPL 2015: Mumbai Indians

IPL 2015: Mumbai Indians (Source: Google)

The Mumbai Indians had been the third team to win the title more than once, after CSK and KKR. Notably, the Mumbai Indians' excellent balance was a factor in their victory. The batting unit was led by Simmons, Rohit Sharma, Ambati Rayudu, and Kieron Pollard, who helped them win the final game. 

8. IPL 2016: Sunrisers Hyderabad

IPL 2016: Sunrisers Hyderabad (Source: Google)

Sunrisers Hyderabad beat Royal Challengers Bangalore by just 8 runs. Notably, SRH skipper David Warner masterfully planned the team's journey during the season. However, almost every RCB game throughout the season was mainly about the Virat Kohli and Ab de Villiers partnership. Virat Kohli went on to earn the Orange Cap in the edition.

7. IPL 2017: Mumbai Indians

IPL 2017: Mumbai Indians (Source: Google)

The Mumbai Indians became the first team to take the title more than twice in the history of the IPL. The first win came in 2013; the second came in 2015. Notably, the Mumbai Indians beat the Rising Pune Supergiants by a narrow margin of just one run in the final game. 

6. IPL 2018: Chennai Super Kings

IPL 2018: CSK (Source: Google)

The Chennai Super Kings became the second IPL team to win more than two trophies. The batting unit's backbone included veteran players Shane Watson and Ambati Rayudu. However, skipper MS Dhoni finished the majority of the matches with the best finishes. The bowling squad of CSK was lucky enough to get guidance from both captain MS Dhoni and bowling coach Dwayne Bravo. 

5. IPL 2019: Mumbai Indians

IPL 2019: Mumbai Indians (Source: Twitter)

The two teams faced off once more in the 2019 Indian Premier League final. The final bowl decided the match between MI and CSK. Shardul Thakur failed to stop Malinga's off-cutter, giving him the hope of at least one run for the super over. Notably, the Mumbai Indians won their fourth IPL title and went on to become the most successful team in IPL history.

4. IPL 2020: Mumbai Indians

IPL 2020: Mumbai Indians (Source: Twitter)

Mumbai Indians won the IPL title for the second time in a row and five times in total. The great squad under the leadership of Rohit Sharma was able to secure the mega title in the year 2020. The Mumbai Indians and Delhi Capitals met for the final game, which became a five-wicket victory for Mumbai Indians over Delhi Capitals. 

3. IPL 2021: Chennai Super Kings

IPL 2021: CSK (Source: Twitter)

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) beat Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) by a margin of 27 runs in the IPL 2021 Final. Notably, CSK (192/3) defeated KKR (165/9) by a margin of 27 runs. The Chennai Super Kings won their fourth IPL title.

2. IPL 2022: Gujarat Titans 

IPL 2022: Gujarat Titans

The Gujarat Titans won the IPL 2022 final after defeating the Rajasthan Royals in the final game. Notably, Yuzvendra Chahal and Jos Buttler from RR were the top wicket-takers and run scorers of the tournament and played a great role in guiding RR to the finals. Notably, Hardik Pandya emerged as the T20I skipper for Team India after his franchise wins in the IPL 2022.

1. IPL 2023: Chennai Super Kings

IPL 2023:CSK (Source: Twitter)

MS Dhoni-led CSK becomes the second team to win five titles in the history of the IPL. Notably, star cricketer Ravindra Jadeja smashed 10 runs from the last two balls to beat the Gujarat Titans in the final game.