ICC announces prize money for T20 World Cup 2024; Winners to get USD 2.45 million

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the prize amount for the tournament winners. To know the whopping amount, check out the article.

Arunima Purohit
Updated On
New Update

ICC T20 World Cup 2024 (Source: TOI)

Listen to this article
0.75x 1x 1.5x
00:00 / 00:00

The T20 World Cup 2024 is coming to a close, with India and South Africa poised to face off in the final on June 29 at the Kensington Oval in Bridgetown, Barbados. The tournament produced exciting matches and moments throughout, with some favourites like Australia, Pakistan and New Zealand failing to advance to the knockout stage.

The tournament co-hosts United States made huge strides in their maiden World Cup campaign and Afghanistan scripted history by reaching their first-ever semi-final in an ICC tournament. There is now one more clash left in the marquee event, which is between the inaugural edition champions and the first-time finalists. 

What is the prize money for T20 World Cup 2024? 

The prize money for the tournament winners was announced earlier by the International Cricket Council (ICC). The total prize pool of the T20 World Cup 2024 is $11.25 million, or Rs. 93.80 crore.  

This time, the total amount is record-breaking, with the winners getting at least $2.45 million (Rs 20.37 crore), while the runners-up will get at least $1.28 million (Rs 10.64 crore). The losing semi-finalists will get $787,500 each (Rs 6.48 cr).

Teams that do not make it past the second round will receive $382,500 (Rs 3.16 crore) each, while those who finish between the 9th and 12th will receive $247,500 (Rs 2.00 cr) each. The other teams, ranging from 13th to 20th place, will earn $225,000 (Rs 1.87 cr). In addition, every team will receive an extra $31,154 (Rs 26 LAKH) for each match won, excluding the semi-finals and finals.

Winner INR 20.37 cr
Runner-up INR 10.64 cr
Losing Semi-finalists  INR 6.48 cr
Super 8 Teams INR 3.16 cr
Positions 9th - 12th  INR 2.00 cr
Positions 13th - 20th INR 1.87 cr
For each match won INR 26 LAKH


"This event is historic in so many ways, so it is fitting that the prize money for players reflects that. Hundreds of millions of fans around the world will be entertained by the players in what we’re hoping to be an Out of This World event,” said ICC Chief Executive Geoff Allardice while announcing the prize money.  

Both India and South Africa are unbeaten in the tournament so far. While South Africa have yet to win a World Cup in their cricketing history, India are aiming to end their title drought since 2013. 


South Africa India T20 World Cup