Italian MotoGP: Francesco Bagnaia continues to dominate Mugello overcoming a three-place grid penalty, check out final results

In an exhilarating race, Francesco Bagnaia showcased his prowess by overcoming a three-place grid penalty to seize victory, moving from fifth to first within just two corners.

Shubham Shekhar
New Update
Francesco Bagnaia

Francesco Bagnaia (Source: X)

Listen to this article
0.75x 1x 1.5x
00:00 / 00:00

In an exhilarating MOTOGPrace, Francesco Bagnaia showcased his prowess by overcoming a three-place grid penalty to seize victory, moving from fifth to first within just two corners. Bagnaia's spectacular start set the stage for an intense and action-packed race.

Enea Bastianini also demonstrated impressive form, overtaking Marc Marquez at the start to claim a podium position. However, Marquez, determined to reclaim his spot, attempted a bold move on lap three at turn one but failed to get his Ducati stopped in time, allowing Bastianini to regain third place. 

Pedro Acosta, meanwhile, made an error by running wide at the final corner while trying to follow Marquez. As Bagnaia gradually extended his lead over Jorge Martin, Augusto Fernandez's race came to an abrupt end as he retired and expressed his frustration towards his GASGAS team. 

A poor day in the office for Honda!

The race witnessed its first casualty when Joan Mir lost control of his Honda at turn one on lap seven. On the same lap, Martin started losing time to Bagnaia, with Bastianini and Marquez closing in on the championship leader.

The day worsened for Honda when Takaaki Nakagami crashed at turn 12 on lap 10. Despite the setbacks for his competitors, Bagnaia's lead was threatened as Martin found a burst of pace, reducing the gap to under half a second at the start of lap 13. 

However, Bagnaia responded by pulling away again, extending his lead to over eight-tenths of a second. With six laps remaining, Marquez made another bid for third place, successfully overtaking Enea Bastianini at turn one. Nonetheless, Bagnaia maintained a strong pace, ensuring Martin could not close the gap further. 

Bastianini, refusing to be deterred by losing third place, reclaimed his position from Marquez as they headed into the final lap. In a dramatic turn of events, Bastianini, the fastest rider on the track, shocked Martin by overtaking him at the final corner of the last lap, securing an unexpected second place. 

Bagnaia's masterful drive secured him a well-deserved victory, with Bastianini and Martin completing the podium in a thrilling race that kept fans on the edge of their seats.

Here are the final results: 

Pos Rider Nat Team
1 Francesco Bagnaia ITA Ducati Lenovo (GP24)
2 Enea Bastianini ITA Ducati Lenovo (GP24)
3 Jorge Martin SPA Pramac Ducati (GP24)
4 Marc Marquez SPA Gresini Ducati (GP23)
5 Pedro Acosta SPA Red Bull GASGAS Tech3 (RC16)
6 Franco Morbidelli ITA Pramac Ducati (GP24)
7 Fabio Di Giannantonio ITA VR46 Ducati (GP23)
8 Maverick Viñales SPA Aprilia Factory (RS-GP24)
9 Alex Marquez SPA Gresini Ducati (GP23)
10 Brad Binder RSA Red Bull KTM (RC16)
11 Aleix Espargaro SPA Aprilia Factory (RS-GP24)
12 Raul Fernandez SPA Trackhouse Aprilia (RS-GP23)
13 Marco Bezzecchi ITA VR46 Ducati (GP23)
14 Miguel Oliveira POR Trackhouse Aprilia (RS-GP24)
15 Alex Rins SPA Monster Yamaha (YZR-M1)
16 Jack Miller AUS Red Bull KTM (RC16)
17 Pol Espargaro SPA Red Bull KTM (RC16)
18 Fabio Quartararo FRA Monster Yamaha (YZR-M1)
19 Johann Zarco FRA LCR Honda (RC213V)
20 Luca Marini ITA Repsol Honda (RC213V)